© Murmur Mag. All rights reserved. 

Categories
Categories
Subscribe for the Newsletter

WINNERS OF THE INAUGURAL BL BLAST OFF VIDEO CHALLENGE HAVE BEEN ANNOUNCED!!

by Tru Starling

Since entries opened in September, over 500+ videos have been submitted from all corners of the globe including Australia, New Zealand, USA, Portugal, Spain, France, Brazil, UK, India, Wales, Indonesia, South Africa, French Polynesia, Peru, Canada, Thailand, Japan and more making it easily a touchstone year for the BL BLAST OFF and truly building a global community. Throughout the competition BL and the team were so lucky to witness the incredible talent of  these groms, gnarly wipeouts, huge tubes, big airs and some seriously incredible surfing – the future is bright to say the least! 

The challenge, judged by Lynch himself and a panel of some of the world’s most exciting young names in surfing including Jack Robinson, Kyuss King, Mahina Maeda, Vahine Fierro and Eli Hanneman, has seen kids enter the radars of some of the sport’s biggest stars.

The winners of the Expert Choice category receive a Perfect Wave trip to the Maldives, while winners in the People’s Choice category receive passes to Surf Lakes in Yeppoon to surf with Barton Lynch himself. Other category winners receive surfboards courtesy of Channel Islands Surfboards and Lost Mayhem Surfboards.

THE EXPERT’S CHOICE

Erin Brooks (Oahu) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/erin-brooks-10 

Kai Odriozola (Basque Country, Spain) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/kai-odriozola

PEOPLE’S CHOICE

Rickson Falcao (Brazil) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/rickson-falcao 

Jorre Claeys (Belgium) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/jorre-claeys

Ruby Stringfellow (Maui) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/ruby-stringfellow

BEST WAVE

Asher McClenahan (Maui) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/asher-mcclenahan

WORST WIPEOUT

Steve Roberson (Maui) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/steve-roberson-1

BEST TUBE

Kai Hall (Bali via South Africa) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/kai-hall-16

BEST AIR

Erin Brooks (Oahu) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/erin-brooks-7

MOST POTENTIAL

Locana Cullen (Avalon, AUS) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/locana-cullen

COACH AKO’s MOST POTENTIAL 

Eden Hasson (Boat Harbour) AUS https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/eden-hasson-8

DIVISIONAL WINNERS

GIRLS & BOYS 8s

Leihani Zoric (Broken Head, AUS) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/leihani-zoric-11 

Ethan Fernandez (FRA) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/ethan-fernandez 

GIRLS & BOYS 10s

Chesney Guillnotte (Oahu, US) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/chesney-guinotte-4 

Lucas Deffenti (Gold Coast, AUS) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/ocea-curtis 

GIRLS & BOYS 12s

Ocea Curtis (Lennox Head, AUS) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/ocea-curtis 

Lukas Skinner (Cornwall, UK) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/lukas-skinner 

GIRLS & BOYS 14s

Erin Brooks (Oahu, US) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/erin-brooks-10 

Kai Odriozola (Basque Country, SPA) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/kai-odriozola 

BL’s MVP 

Kai Hall (Bali via South Africa) https://epicentre.tv/bl-blast-off/video-challenge/kai-hall-17 

FINALS WEEK VIDEOS 

Part 1 – Awards 8’s + 10s https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxsaCw4TNrE&t=7s 

Part 2 – 12s https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4aEsmHyn5Y&t=183s 

Part 3 – 14s https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeuQTVm4C7w&t=3s 

Part 4 – Best Of https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEZM5zuYp48&t=5s 

Part 5 – Experts Choice https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ripryayXJ0 

So, there you have it! BL and the team have chosen, and we think they have chosen well! Keep your eyes peeled on these young talents and all the groms who entered the event. Big things to come… 

Leave a comment

PRODUCT OF THE MONTH

about
About Us

Our goal is to bring life to women's surfing through breaking news, amazing stories, current reviews and entertaining videos.

More About Murmur
MURMUR HEALTH